Posted in Introvert

The Counsellor

Being an introvert in a workplace, give rise to its own set of challenges that could be same in nature as personal ones, but different in approach of providing solutions altogether. The image I have at my workplace is, that of calm and composed, but that is pretentious as the inner nature is in contradiction. The irony is, being a rarest of personality type, INFJ, I feel the pain of others as my own, especially the ones who are closer to my heart; I counsel them when they approach me, so working as per their perception of being an enlightened one. But actually, I am not. I fight with my own insecurities as much as the external factors altering my position as a whole. For example, changes in the work environment, deviation in tone and behavior of peers from the benchmardked one ( the one I set on the pretext of previous interations with them). These things makes me anxious as hell. But I try to keep my composure on a downside as the energy to openly tackle such problems have more demands to meet the limited supply I am allocated to each day.

So, coming back to the counsellor role, feeling the pain of others and helping them arises when the topic of it is discussed by them with me. And as a hardcore introvert, I don’t help people until they have asked for it. But the moment they turn towards me, I am unstoppable. The empathy outbursts, and the mission to pull out these poor souls from the swamp of professional miseries, becomes only motive of my own dreary life. Only irony is I may have my own problems building up, to which I have to devote a considerable amount of time and effort to come up with a solution. But talking one on one as a cousellor, feels good as it renders us to bring out our power to heal others. Which appears true, depending on the success rate of radiating positive impact on these suffering people, most of the times. But, without a degree in such vocation, will not fetch a full time career. We, INFJs, are born with such power is not enough to practice it professionally, other than working and polishing the skill on co-workers’ problem statements. And honestly my clientele is very small as of today, seeking counselling help, but it is satisfying.

Author:

An introverted IT Guy.

Leave a Reply

